I think God made a mistake….. ?

Do you know a family that homeschools?

Are you a homeschooler?

Have you ever wondered why some people choose to homeschool their children?

Well, I’m here to tell you that the first time God “called our family to homeschool”, that’s what we Christians say when we feel like God is asking us to do something that He feels is a good idea, I told my husband, “Honey, I think God has made His first mistake!”   (NOT)

See, my husband was a principle of a private school, I (among other things) was an Early Childhood Education major in college, and I personally come from a long line of public school teachers.  So, I just knew, that little nagging thought, that tug I felt on my heart, that “calling” I heard from God, HAD TO BE A MISTAKE.  (NOT!)

You know what I’m sayin’?

When,….you think about something, not sure why.

Then, …. You see it, everywhere.

All of sudden,…. It’s what you hear about on the radio and on the television every. single.time. you. turn. it. on!

You might want to consider that God is trying to get your attention.  ;)  Just sayin’.

Well, I prayed about it.  Okay, so I asked God to ‘knock it off’ and pick someone else.  Please.

Then, my husband came home talkin’ about it. (See, told ya.)

So, I prayed about it some more.  This time, the ‘right’ way…..asking for an email signed by the Holy Spirit or somethin’.  ;)

And,….we decided we should just go for it.  I mean, how bad could I REALLY screw up my kids in 9 months.    (that’s a joke)

Anyway, not that God was surprised, but, it turned out pretty darn good.

Long story short, we’ve been homeschooling on and off, praying each year about each one of our children and following God’s lead.

This year, I’m homeschooling our 12-year-old daughter and so far, we’ve been having a great time.

Does that mean that every day, we do it perfectly? No.

Does that mean that every day, we lead this perfectly harmonious day while the blue birds sing and the mice do our chores?  No.

Homeschooling can sure be fun, but it is NO joke.  It takes time, dedication, perseverance, effort, self-less-ness, humility, patience, gentleness, organization, preparation,….did I say patience?

Any who……

Some days, you just think, I would love to hang out with my girlfriends, grab a cup of coffee, go to TJ Maxx, chat, giggle, and just hear someone say, “Girl, I get it!”  Some days, you yearn for someone to hug you and say, “It’s okay, tomorrow is a new day, I’m praying for you.”

Well, there IS a place to do some of those things!

It is the Homeschool Mom’s Winter Summit!

summit photo

This year, The Summit is expanding and having 2 locations!  One in Oklahoma and one in my home state, TEXAS!    *Can I get a WOOHOO?!!?!  ;)

The Texas Homeschool Mom’s Winter Summit will be in the beautiful and historical town of San Marcos at the Embassy Suites on January 24-25, 2014.

And get this,….they are GIVING AWAY  a Summit pass AND a hotel stay!!  **Can I get another WOOHOO??!!!  ;)

 

This is what YOU need to do:

1)**YOU NEED TO COMMENT ON THIS POST BECAUSE YOU COULD BE A WINNER!!**  (Well, if you’re a homeschool mom, you’re already a winner, but you know what I mean.)  ;)

2) Check out the The Homeschool Moms’ Winter Summit website and registration page, and the Facebook page.

3) That’s it!  How easy is that???!!!

You can read some more posts about how refreshing the Summit was at The Pennington Point and The Marathon Mom from mothers who have attended in the past.  *Disclaimer: I have actually only dreamed of going,….BUT, y’all leaving comments could make my dream, AND yours, COME TRUE!!!

So please, leave me a comment!  **The deadline is Oct. 11, 2013**

* Tell me where you’re from (you don’t have to be from Texas or Oklahoma to attend) and that you followed your 2 assignments listed above or that this was just a really great post! ;) (that’s not a joke)

Praying I see YOU, on January 24-25 at The Homeschool Moms’ Winter Summit in San Marcos, Texas!

Keepin’ it real,

Elena

14 thoughts on “I think God made a mistake….. ?

  1. Really enjoying your blog sister. Thank you for this post and the reminder of God’s calling to homeschool being such a blessing to our family. The winter summit sounds wonderful!

  2. Something I felt I should have done, but didn’t. I admire those who follow God’s calling and does it. And it is a LOT of work for a mom! I am so proud of you and those who stick to their convection and them are the best mom’s I know.

  3. I am enjoying your blog, Elena! This is our first year homeschooling and ultimately I’m very glad we are. I hope that you go to the winter summit – it sounds like a wonderful opportunity! Best wishes to you and the family.

  4. WOW…sounds too good to be true! This would simply be an amazing once in a lifetime opportunity…not something I would be able to do otherwise! thanks Elena for always thinking of others!! <3

  5. I saw the contest posted on a blog I read, had to enter and check out the web pages about, fb & bloggy…super glad I checked this out! Can’t wait to share this with the lady’s from my mom’s group!!!
    Ya know I just really feel like a winner already!

  6. I absolutely adore the way you expressed Gods “call” to homeschool. Every year as the new school year is coming I feel the uncontrollable desire to homeschool and always say theres no way I can do that. I could ruin my kid in 9 months lol.

  7. Elena, it is so funny that you – of all people I know – would even begin to wonder if God didn’t have a particular plan for you. You seem to have excepted every challenge He has ever presented to you with grace and elegance. You take His challenge on with great determination and expect to receive all the goodness he provides for you and those you love. It is one of the many things we (your friends) love about you! Keep on keepin’ on! love to you <3 & Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

