A Day Late and A Dollar ‘Short’

A Day Late and A Dollar ‘Short’…..perhaps,….BUT,….not without a lesson learned! 

So, my apologies for not posting as I said I would, I was a little preoccupied with saying good bye to my son.  After being home a month on college break, he had to return. 

He and I had some really great conversations while he was here, and watching him interact with his siblings was such a joy.  🙂

Yesterday, we had to say good bye.

So, after dropping him off, I drove away praying aloud, “Please dear God, take care of my baby”.  I held back tears of sadness (for me) and tears of joy (for him) all at the same time.

See, I knew if I began to cry, I wasn’t so sure I was going to be able to stop before I reached the tolls.  I didn’t want to make the innocent person wonder if I was going to be okay, or if something horrific had just happened, when really, all he/she needed was my dollar.

Stoically, I drove away, up the interstate, through the toll booth, and did what many other Americans do when they have just had an emotional moment and have some time on their hands,………….I went shopping!!! 

I had the best quiet time I’ve had in a LONG time!  I bought things for other people, my favorite thing to do, …….  AND, oops, I broke a BIG no-no in my house!  All in the same day!  You’re probably wondering what I did,…..well, even at the risk of my older children reading this, I’ll tell you.  I went through a drive-through restaurant and ate the worst-for-you, yummy-for-my tummy cheeseburger!  Gasp!  Wow!  They don’t call it a Whopper for nothin’!  Ugh. 

Why am I telling you all this?  Well,….one, I feel better ‘confessing’ my cheeseburger sin; two, I enjoy writing and I owed you a post; and three, I want you to know that I really practice what I preach.  BALANCE!  I am NOT perfect!

I ate healthy all week.  I make about 75-80% of all our food from scratch,….but yes, I am normal.  I’m a work in progress.  Sometimes I forget that and I expect too much from myself, which only leads to greater disappointment or frustration later.   *sigh.

God is so patient with me each and every day, and I want to make sure you know that you need to be patient with yourself too.   In order to have lasting changes, you really need to go one-step-at-a-time.   You WILL have oopsies too, but, get up, dust off (or wipe the crumbs off of your mouth) and try again!

What will I learn from this?   Be prepared!  It’s not like I didn’t know that I might get hungry after being in the car and running errands for three hours.  I should have had my water bottle filled up, my almonds in my bag, an apple, a cheese stick, maybe even a little piece of dark chocolate………. Clearly, my emotions got the best of me when I was least prepared. 

Well, now I must balance it out.  I need to go get on the treadmill for some extra time, and drink my water.  Tonight, we’ll have a homecooked meal (instead of me handing someone our hard-earned money) of grilled chicken, brown rice, and a giant Caesar salad. 

By the way,….how’s your week going?  I’d love to hear about it! 

Keepin’ it real,

Elena

4 thoughts on “A Day Late and A Dollar ‘Short’

  1. Well, this past Sunday I too had a drive thru moment. I had the crispy chicken sandwich from Wendys. What did I do after??? I took a nap, ugh. Today I have had a 3 egg white omelet with low cal cheedar cheese, fresh strawberries (which I force myself to eat) and a whole wheat, oatmeal & honey muffin. For lunch I had a turkey, lettuce and tomato on whole wheat bread sandwich and I just finished with a cup of fat free greek yogart with fresh blue berries and honey. What will I do next??? I can tell you I won’t be taking a nap :0)

  2. Thanks for keeping it real Elena 🙂 I remind myself it is one choice at a time, every failure is an opportunity to do better next time. I love how our bodies talk to us about our choices too. Headaches, stomachaches, sleeplessness or sleepiness, all clues if we listen. I’m an emotional eater and could totally see myself doing something similar to you-but mine would have involved chocolate 😉

  3. Hi, Keeping it real, and having a plan is essential. My plan for Christmas week was to not agonize over Christmas cookies. I ate them when I wanted to, I had all the family favorites that I knew would invlove my old bad habits. My plan was to not skip my Saturday weigh-in and to do one extra day at the gym. Yes, I gained nearly 3 pounds over the two weeks we celebrated, but I gave away food gifts I should not have in the house, went to the gym 4 times rather than three and I have already dropped 1 and 1/2 pounds from my holiday bonanza. Sticking to my plan helped me feel indulged and not guilty. The cold weather makes it difficult to “look forward” to my cruncy salad at night, so…. I am shifting into winter mode and replacing salad with veggie stir fry, cooking spray , not oil, fat free wasabi ginger salad dressing as a last minute splash on sauce for zing.

Leave a Reply

