It’s a win/win year for EVERYONE!

fireworks

Each new year we are presented with new challenges, new opportunities, and new seasons. Praise God!

The bible says, “But HE has given proof of what HE is like. HE has shown kindness by giving you rain from heaven. HE gives you crops in their seasons. HE provides you with plenty of food. HE fills your hearts with joy.” Act. 14:17 (NIRV)

Well, God has sure proven Himself to be a real, loving, and providing Father around here over the years!

……and He continues to do so.

See, I was raised by a mother who was raised on a farm. She then went on to college and majored in Home Economics. (Can you even do that anymore?) Anyway, she had skills, experience, and wasn’t afraid to ‘change up’ a recipe. (win/win for me!) So I’ve always been in a kitchen girl, aka. “foodie”, learning and experimenting.

I was also raised by a mother who firmly believes in God and that He has a purpose for everything! (again, win/win for me!)

So, after I got married and our family began to grow, and boy, did it grow….. 😉 I was blessed to have the motivation, fearlessness, and skills to cook and bake from scratch. I have doubled, tripled, and quadrupled recipes on many occasions. I have ‘replaced’ and ‘substituted’ ingredients that I’m not sure I should have, but it worked, and everybody’s alive. 🙂 I love trying new foods, I love meal planning, and I love cooking with REAL food!

Good thing!

When our son got diagnosed with leukemia, one of the first things I did was find out how I could cook more healthy and healing foods for him so that he could not only survive, but thrive. I also wanted to provide the rest of my family with foods that would strengthen them so they could fight off any horrific diseases that they too may encounter.

In my studies, which were COUNTLESS hours on the internet, in books, asking nutritionists and naturopaths many questions, I decided to go to school to learn even more. I mean, I was the mother of 8 children, one receiving treatment for leukemia, I had time…………….

I became a Certified Holistic Health Coach and I continue to study and learn every single day. *My family can confirm,….they think I’m weird. Shhh!

Well,…..as Momma said, “God has a reason for everything.” This new year brings our family a new challenge. (cuz we were bored you know)

We have learned that some of us have been suffering the side effects of Celiac disease for quite some time. We thought it was other things or individual issues, but no. The range of symptoms caused by Celiacs disease vary widely, and person to person.

What does that mean?

That means that although I have experimented and enjoyed gluten-free recipes and foods in the past, I now have to completely convert my family of 10 to a completely gluten-free diet. Yep, you read right. The best (and easiest) way to handle the situation, is to make our home gluten-free.

OR,…..I could become a stay-at-home short-order-cook and make some gluten-free foods for some people, and regular foods for others. No thanks.

One of our little ones said, “do we ALL have to go GLUTTON FREE?” Despite the faux pas, “Yes” I answered.

So, what does this mean for this blog?

Well, it means that I will be posting more frequently as I journal my way through this AND it means that EVERYONE who reads this blog will still be able to eat and enjoy all of the recipes. This shouldn’t seclude anyone, but if anything, bring in more readers. Woohoo! (win/win) 😉

The great news for any of you interested in losing weight and not following a glutton-free gluten-free diet, is that if you choose to follow closely, you’ll probably lose a few pounds. (……yep, win/win AGAIN)

Now, this will be a learning experience as well as a ‘fun’ journey, I’m determined. Remember our verse at the beginning? 😉 I think I’ll post it on our fridge.

I hope you’ll come along for the ride and invite your friends to come too!

Keepin’ it real,

Elena

One thought on “It’s a win/win year for EVERYONE!

  1. Wow…. this is beyond a new chapter, more like a new book! I have resorces and friends who live this life, but very little hands on experience. Really looking forward to learning along with you.

Leave a Reply

