My CSA and Whole 30

As I anticipate my first CSA delivery next week, my excitement is hard to contain!  🙂

CSA PIC

Being raised in south Texas, I find winters here in New Hampshire to be a little bit long……as spring arrives (in my heart, it arrives on March 1 😉 ) I get so excited to get outside, dig in the dirt, plant my vegetable garden, plant some flowers and herbs, …. And get some ‘spring cleaning’ done.

This year, I’ll be doing something a little different.

Let me back up for a minute…..

See, last fall, after MONTHS and YEARS of trying to figure a couple of tummy issues with a few of my children, I went to see a Naturopath for the first time.  What started out as a “let’s see how this goes” appointment, did NOT end that way.

After much conversation, after going over all of my notes and information that I had been tracking for years,…..my naturopath ran a few tests, one of them being a genetic test to see if I was predisposed to Celiac Disease.  We wanted to see if perhaps I was ‘sharing’ some predispositions with my children and if some of my issues were from the same “root of the problem”.

Now, let’s keep in mind, it was my children who were having the tummy issues.

tummy ache

Long story short, we discovered that I have Celiac Disease.  Despite the fact that my symptoms manifested in some ways that were not obvious symptoms,  it sure did explain a lot for us as we tried to solve some mysteries for the children.

For me, well,…..some of my symptoms were as follows: fibromyalgia, pernicious anemia, psoriasis, migraines, endometriosis, fatigue……. seriously.

The naturopath said I should STOP and AVOID ALL gluten ASAP.  The thought that immediately went through my head was, “Okay, HOLD ON,…..I came in here looking for answers for my children, NOT a life changing event that would make ME cut out foods that I love”.     *do you see the oxymoron?

I had gone to school!  I am a Holistic Health Counselor and Educator!  I CAN’T HAVE CELIAC DISEASE!  I would KNOW if I had Celiac!!  And did I mention, I LOVE PIZZA!!!!  I CANNOT HAVE CELIAC !

wrong

Hi, I’m Elena, I have Celiac Disease.

Since that day, I have been gluten-free, well, except for the days I cheated (yes, pizza) and boy did I pay for it!    I don’t cheat any more, it is SO NOT worth it.  (And for the record, there are some really great gluten-free pizzas and pizza crusts on the market!  And it’s pretty darn easy to make too!)

Since that day, things have changed!

My body really does NOT like gluten.  I get physically sick when I eat it; my face breaks out like a teenager;  I’m moody (probably because I’m in total body pain)…..it’s not pretty.

BUT,…..

My body DOES love yummy, clean, WHOLE, Unprocessed, fresh food!!!

My fatigue is way better!  My fibromyalgia is virtually gone!  My psoriasis is getting much better! My migraines are GONE! My cycles are less painful and more ‘normal’!  AND,…..My anemia is WAY, WAY, WAY BETTER!!!  *THAT is a BIG DEAL!

I have always struggled with anemia!  The “normal range” for iron levels in a woman is about 30-126,….last fall, I had hit my all time low of 9!!  But last month, I had my yearly physical with my medical doctor, and I tested at 30!!!!  I HAVE NEVER, EVER TESTED THAT HIGH!

See, for someone with Celiac Disease, gluten blocks iron absorption, nevermind that the intestinal tract is damaged from gluten.  Clearly, that is what had been happening for me.  So, despite me taking iron supplements for years, my body couldn’t absorb it.

Since 30 is still the low end of “normal”, we know my body still has some healing and repairing to do, but, I’m definitely headed in the right direction!

My plan, to do a Whole 30, in celebration of my “30”.

If you are unfamiliar with what that means, you can go to www.whole9life.com for a full description, but, my brief description is:

A Paleo-style “reset” for the body.

So WHY am I doing it?

There are MANY people out there who have changed over the way they eat to the Paleo way and found great results with some of the same symptoms (and more) that I mentioned earlier.  Personally, I HATE (sorry, I know that’s not a nice word) PSORIASIS!  I certainly don’t appreciate being over 40 and getting acne breakouts!

So, in an attempt to “reset” a few things in my body, I’m going for the Whole 30!

I’d love to have you join me!

There are many benefits to the Paleo lifestyle, try it out this way for just 30 days, you may find that you really prefer eating that way.   Just google it and you’ll find MANY resources on the Paleo lifestyle.

You can find some of my favorite ‘Paleo Places’ under the Whole Living Resources tab.

If you’d like to join me, I will be offically starting my Whole 30 on June 3 and I’ll be blogging along the way, so stay tuned!

Keepin’ it real,

Elena  🙂

One thought on “My CSA and Whole 30

Leave a Reply

