Day 1 of my FIRST “Whole 30”

I’ve had many questions sent to me.

Some of you are wondering, what exactly is a Whole 30?

 A Whole 30 is a 30-day time frame designed  to stop and change things up a bit (aka. “reset”) in your body  for a solid 30 days.  😉

paleo 30 days

See, sometimes, our bodies need a change so we can break plateaus, so we can get focused, so we can calm down some systemic inflammation, or so we can detox.

In my last post, I explained that I have been following a gluten-free diet since last fall and I have had some wonderful results!  My body has been able to absorb iron again, my psoriasis (a very pesky skin condition which is auto-immune related) has cleared up a bit, my migraines are better, my fibromyalgia pain is rare, my monthly cycles are WAY less painful,….. it’s been great!

I’d still like to make it better.  Good, better, best …. Right?  😉

So, today, I started a Whole 30.

That means, not only am I cutting out gluten, but I am also cutting out ALL grains (even the gluten-free ones), ALL dairy, ALL legumes (which includes beans and peanuts), and ALL sugar.

Awe, come on, it’s only 30 days.  The Israelites ate manna forty years!  We can do this!

You may be wondering, what’s left?

paleo veggies

I will be eating lean meats, chicken, fish, and lots of eggs.  I will be eating lots of vegetables, fruits, nuts and seeds.  I will using healthy oils (my favorite, coconut oil-yum!) and I will be drinking lots of water. 😉

What does that look like in a day?  Like this:

Wake up: Drink a large glass of water (with lemon is helpful for detoxing)

Breakfast: 2 eggs with veggies (this morning I used 1 zucchini, ½ an onion, some red pepper and tomatoes in coconut oil).

Mid-morning: 32 ounces of water

Lunch: 6 ounces of pulled pork (cooked in the crockpot—the easy peasy way), a handful of baby carrots, a few slices of cucumber, and some apple slices.

Afternoon snack: ½ of an avocado with lime juice and 32 ounces of water.

Dinner: 6 ounces of grilled chicken, grilled slices of summer squash, and one ear of corn.

Evening snack: some yummy homemade grain-free granola….aka in our home as “paleo-nola” 😉  and yes, WATER!

THAT’S A LOT OF FOOD!  I sure didn’t starve today.  😉

In addition to starting my Whole 30, I also began a new 30-day exercise plan.  Today, that included 55 squats and ½ an hour on the stationary bike.

What makes this sound so easy?  PLANNING!!!!  Without a doubt, PLANNING!!!!

Do you use a meal plan?  I love meal planning, it makes life so much easier!

There are many ways to do it, …. That’s a whole series of posts!  Interested?  Let me know!

For now, here are few tips:

Use your crockpot.

When you cook something, double it to get ahead.

Use leftovers.

To learn more about the Whole 30 plan, go to: www.whole9life.com.  To get movin’, go here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/30-Day-squat-Challenge/109536482550422 or google “the 30 day squat challenge”.

Keepin’ it real,

Elena 🙂

One thought on “Day 1 of my FIRST “Whole 30”

Leave a Reply

