Learn Something New Every Day

learn thumbs up

“Learn something new every day”, a motto I live by, just ask my kiddos…..I say it all of the time.  Even if you mess up, learn from it.

So as I’ve traveled this road of a “Whole 30”, I’ve learned and confirmed, quite a few things.

1)      Doing a Whole 30, or any other endeavor, is harder to do alone.  Having a support network or someone to do it with you is better.

2)      I used to eat a lot of cheese.

3)      I love vegetables, especially sautéed in coconut oil.  Yum!

4)      I now appreciate and enjoy sunbutter.

5)      I can drink black coffee and enjoy it without gagging.

6)      Seafood makes me happy. I feel healthy, happy, and “light” even after a full meal.

7)      I can live without cheese.  *Prefer not to, but I can survive.

8)      It is a challenge to do a Whole 30 when you are the momma and your husband and children are not doing it with you,…..

9)      Meal planning is essential.

10)   When planning to do a Whole 30, account for parties and stress,…..it could really throw you off!

And now, my latest update on how my Whole 30 is going and how my 30-day squat challenge is going….

I could lie.  I could tell you how wonderful it is, how it’s so easy, how you should do it too,…….

But that’s not me.

And,……

I could go on and on.

I could give you a list of excuses.

I could tell you that being the momma of 8 kiddos who eat 24/7, having a hubby who works endless hours to provide for us, living 20 minutes from the grocery store, OR dealing with a birthday and a graduation is all to blame,……………but it’s not.

This last week, I just wasn’t thinking.

huh girl

My meals were planned, my house was stocked, and I just wasn’t thinking……
My daughter chose one of her birthday foods to be corn on the cob, a no-no on a Whole 30, and well, without the blink of an eye,……I ate it.

Maybe my brain was just thinking, “it’s a vegetable”.   ??

Maybe my brain wasn’t thinking at all.

I just ate.

Needless to say, I “fell off of the cart”.

I was devastated.  I wanted to cry.

You see, the whole point of a Whole 30 is to be perfectly consistent in order to let your body reset itself.  If you cheat, at all…… you’ve blown it.  No. Cheating. At. All.

So, guess what I did?

Yep, I said, “to heck with it”.
How often do you hear that on a blog?

I decided that I’ll need to plan better and try again another time.

I considered just starting my Whole 30 all over again the next day, but I was just an emotional mess due to my screw up.  (I’m usually my worst enemy….can you identify?)

The good news,………..

I’m kickin’ butt (no pun intended) on my 30-day squat challenge!!!  I’ve lost almost a whole inch on my thighs and hips!  My pants feel comfortable and loose and it gets easier every day!

Now, many of you have asked, “what program are you following”?  Well, here it is:

30 day squat challenge

Today I’m at 105, and I am so psyched to be able to say, “I did it”!!!

So, as I move forward, my plan is to complete my 30-day squat challenge, continue with my gluten-free (almost grain free) eating plan, and continue doing what I do,……”always strive for balance, learn something new every day, and Praise God for every single second”!

Keepin’ it real,

Elena   😉

2 thoughts on “Learn Something New Every Day

  1. I’ve learned that Elena is human, lol. Don’t be so hard on yourself. That corn is not going to ruin your life in any way shape or form. Just continue on today to do your best and the rest will follow. I’m super proud of you no matter what you decide to do.

Leave a Reply

