Cancer in our home and how YOU can help!

I grew up with two working parents, eating a lot of foods made from scratch (but a lot of processed foods as well), and one dream, …. I wanted to be a mother.

I am now blessed to be the mother of 8 beautiful children here on earth (1 in heaven) and I have an amazing husband who has given me an amazing life!

Now, that doesn’t mean it’s been all roses.  In fact, we’ve had our share of challenges; things that my husband would categorize as “Cadillac problems” and things that we would consider absolutely life changing.

See,….five years ago today, one of our eight children was diagnosed with leukemia.

He was 8 years old at the time, and going into fourth grade.

He had been a healthy little boy, no major traumas, no major illnesses ……needless to say, we were shocked.

We were devastated.

Our world changed in a matter of seconds, in fact, it was shattered.

We had been having a great summer and life was movin’ right along.

Then, my son noticed that he had a few bruises that hadn’t been there the day before.  He didn’t feel sick, although he did have a slight cough, but he had asthma, so that was ‘normal’.

However, on that fateful day, as he played outside with his siblings, he went from a few bruises, to over 20!  They just kept spontaneously appearing, and they didn’t hurt.  He began to look like a little dalmation puppy.

He became nervous, as did I, and like any good mother of this century would probably do, ….. I consulted ‘google’.  I didn’t like what I found, but I didn’t share it with him, instead, I called his doctor.

LONG story short,……

The doctor instructed us to be at her office FIRST THING IN THE MORNING.

What started out as a 20 minute appointment,  turned into a life-changing event.

Her words (the doctor, whom we love and consider a dear friend) were, “I have bad news, really bad news.”   She continued to tell us what they discovered (in a matter of minutes since he was so sick) and as he sat on my lap, my little son turned to me and asked, “Mommy, did she just say I have cancer?”

That day will FOREVER be engrained in my mind.

We walked into the appointment thinking we’d be done within an hour and instead, ended up staying in the hospital for over a week.

My dear husband had to go home and break the news to our other children, all by himself, while I stayed at the hospital learning a whole new language and experiencing a whole new world.

The days were long and the nights seemed even longer.

Were we going to lose him?  I just couldn’t bear the thought.  But I knew it was a possibility.

I spent every minute during the day focused on our son and getting an education that many parents wish they never knew at all.

I spent every minute of many nights on my computer trying to learn everything I could to get him better, prevent the same thing from happening to one of our other children, and praying.

As I read, I learned about eating whole grains, organic fruits and vegetables,….I learned that sugar feeds cancer!

I had already known that our diets needed changing; and we had already started transitioning to some of those foods before our son was diagnosed. But, I knew we needed to do more. (Disclosure: I am NOT blaming food for his illness!)

I continued to read, research, and learn.

I read, learned, and studied about anything and everything that would help get our son healthy and/or prevent him from getting worse. I vowed to do whatever it took, above and beyond what any doctor was already doing to save my son.  Most of all, I was praying that God would spare his life, knowing, that it might not be God’s will to do so. I accepted that, but I had to do whatever I could.

My mission to help save my son became my life.  It was real, permanent change that needed to occur, and I was determined to achieve it.

I enrolled in distance learning to become a certified Holistic Health Coach, and I studied furiously.

Since that time, I’ve learned even more from life experience and most of all, God.

I did become a certified Holistic Health Coach.  We do eat a very different diet now than we did before our son was diagnosed.

I firmly believe in BALANCE.

I firmly believe that FOOD SHOULD BE THY MEDICINE.

I firmly believe that although all of the things I did, all of the things the doctors did, and all that science provides HELPED save my son’s life,….it was God, ONLY GOD, who CHOSE TO HEAL HIM.

Our son is now 13 and doing well.  Praise God!

He is cancer-free, but still goes for frequent check-ups and will have an oncologist the rest of his life.

I know there are some people who would never even consider chemotherapy or radiation.

I know there are some people who would never even consider NOT getting chemotherapy or radiation.

I think that each family must decide what’s right for them, and I respect their decision.

Every day, I still pray for the doctors and nurses who give of themselves to help families at the children’s hospital.

I pray for the families going through these trials, even though I may not know them, because I know God does.

Every day, I thank God for the time I have with my children, every one of them, for I know now, better than ever, that each day is ever so precious and should not be taken for granted.

It breaks my heart to see children struggling through chronic illnesses and parents struggling to support them emotionally and make ends meet financially.

But today, I want you to know that I am SO grateful to God for sparing our son’s life and for all that the doctors and nurses did for him and our family!

Today is a gift, a gift I humbly accept.

** During my son’s time of severe illness, he started a fund to help families in need, it’s named “Be Positive for CHaD (Children’s Hospital at Dartmouth) kids”.  You can google it and donate by looking for “Cam’s story”.  PLUS, anyone who is interested in my services or Thirty-One products this month, PLEASE let me know! ALL proceeds will be going to his fund.

** “Even when you can’t help yourself, you can always help someone else….pray for them.”

Our lives have changed dramatically in the last 5 years, and it’s been a learning experience.

Whatever your experiences have been, use them to help someone else, it’s one of the best gifts you can give someone.

Keepin’ it real,

Elena   😉

One thought on “Cancer in our home and how YOU can help!

Leave a Reply

