A letter from me to YOU!

Today’s post is a letter I wrote to myself long ago that I thought I’d share with all of you.  I hope you’ll appreciate it for what it’s worth and perhaps take one little nugget of wisdom from it.

You should know that I wrote this to myself when I was really suffering with my fibromyalgia, feeling a little bloated, and really annoyed with my psoriasis.  I was already a Certified Health Coach and was feeling like a total failure for not having already “fixed” myself.  Since that time,….I’ve taken my own words to heart and seen wonderful results!

I pray that you will too!  😉

Dear Self,

What is a “diet”?

According to Miriam Webster, the definition of the word ‘diet’ is:

a :  food and drink regularly provided or consumed

b :  habitual nourishment

c :  the kind and amount of food prescribed for a person or animal for a special reason

d :  a regimen of eating and drinking sparingly so as to reduce one’s weight <going on a diet>

I hope you’ll notice that it isn’t until “d” where you see anything about ‘reducing one’s weight’.

“You go Miriam!”  😉

To me, a diet is “a” through “c”.  So please keep that in mind as you read.

Now,….

How do you know if you are choosing the right “diet” for YOU?

As a Certified Holistic Health Coach, let me assure you,….NO doctor, NO health coach, NO fitness trainer, NO ONE can tell you what diet is best for you except YOU!

How can that be?!  There are thousands of testimonies all over the internet of people who have achieved amazing (and instant) results and they look like models! Accept yourself.

Well, YOU know YOUR body BEST!

Every ‘expert’ on the planet can give you their theory as to which diet will work best for you, and they can speak to their own experience, but NOT ONE OF THEM can tell you which would work best for you!

Now, that is not to say that they might be right in their advice, but really, you need to try for yourself and learn to listen to your body.

What works for one person does not always work for another; even if their situations seem ‘exactly’ the same.

Yes, that means I am saying:

… “in order to LOSE weight, it is NOT as simple as ‘you must burn more calories that you take in’”

… “milk is NOT bad for everyone”

… “some people should eat carbs, and plenty of them”

…”EAT FAT,….LOTS of GOOD fat!!”

That also means that I am saying, “DO NOT take ONLY my word for it”.

Do your homework!

Be willing to make the time and if needed, sacrifice,  to get to know your body.  It’s an investment worth making! Love yourself.

Each and every one of us was created uniquely and perfectly, in order for each one of us to be exactly who we are.

Therefore, it is IMPOSSIBLE for all of us to follow the exact same diet and be the best ‘we’ can be.

My job as a Health Coach is to help you find out what works best, for YOU!  I use a combination of research, education, and experience to formulate and listen to what will work best for YOU! I do NOT know everything nor will I claim to know everything. There are many other wonderful health coaches out there, and guess what?!  They don’t know everything either! (If they claim a “one size fits all”,…RUN!)

You were not born instantaneously.  You were created and crafted, slowly and perfectly over a nine-month period.  Then, you were introduced to a big, beautiful, imperfect world.  BANG!  The perfect environment for your body was changed and affected by everything around it.

Therefore, you must be willing to put in time and effort, and a lot of patience and perseverance in order to achieve the health/results you are looking for. Don’t compare yourself.

There will be trials, errors, progress, regression, and lesson learned.  DON’T GIVE UP!

The body was created with perfect balance and due to all of the toxic things you’ve put into your body, exposed your body to, and things that couldn’t be avoided,….it’s going to take even longer to retrieve that balance that is right for you.

There certainly is a time and place for you to seek assistance.  Whether you choose medical help or holistic help, or a combination of the two, do it for YOU!

A few reminders:

1)      Be patient and don’t give up!

2)      Don’t expect instant results; you didn’t get where you are overnight.

3)      Stay active; challenge yourself.

4)      Don’t expect anyone to “know it all”.

5)      Have an open mind; LISTEN.

6)      This may take longer than you had hoped; focus on “progress”, not “perfection”.

7)      Opinion does not equal fact. (and everyone has an opinion!)

8)      Commit to change, not a trend.

9)      Accept yourself for who you are; being skinny does NOT equal being healthy!

10)   Be patient and DON’T GIVE UP!

Love, Me

**So readers, if you are feeling unhappy with your own body image, a skin condition, a food allergy, a food intolerance, side effects of antibiotics or anything else, please know that there is NO judgment here and I’m happy to help.  🙂

This is a place where you can consider me a resource for honest advice, and facts…..and not confuse the two!  😉  And by the way,….I have yet to “fix” myself, but I have accepted myself,…a work in progress!  😉

Keepin’ it real,

Elena

Leave a Reply

